We are excited to have partnered with Data Ready to convene a virtual meeting to plan engagements with governments around the world regarding how data rights will be safeguarded when the world recovers from the COVID-19 pandemic.

What steps must be taken to #RestoreDataRights after the #COVID-19 pandemic is over?

Tom Orrell, Managing Director, Data Ready

The meeting recognises that governments around the world are having to temporarily suspend certain fundamental rights, including the rights to liberty, freedom of assembly and privacy in order to effectively contain and eventually eradicate COVID-19. What all approaches have in common is the central role that data has played in the response.

The purpose of the virtual meeting brainstorm and think through the policy and operational steps that need to be considered during Covid-19 response planning on how temporary and intrusive uses of people’s data will eventually be wound-down. Our objective is to assist policy-makers in their thinking as they plan pandemic response interventions and as such we also call upon representatives of civil society, the United Nations, other development partners, and private sector stakeholders who are often the sources of data, to contribute to this discussion.

Our focus is regional in scope and centres on the response in Africa, which is largely still in a planning phase and which will require significant support from international partners in the coming weeks and months.

Panellists

Some of the panellists at the #RestoringDataRights Virtual Meeting on Thursday April 23, 2020, at 12:00 UTC

Some of the panellists that are expected include Dr Samira Asma, Assistant Director-General, Data Analytics & Delivery at the World Health Organisation and Oliver Chinganya, the Director of the Africa Centre for Statistics at UN Economic Commission for Africa. We are excited to see representatives from the Human Rights community including Irungu Houghton (Amnesty International Kenya) and Diana Gichengo (Kenya Human Rights Commission) as well as global data advocates such as Alice Munyua of Mozilla and Shida Badiee of Open Data Watch.

We have been amazed at the demand that there has been for this conversation as we have completely sold out all (free) tickets to the Zoom meeting. To respond to this demand, the meeting will be broadcast live on the Open Institute’s youtube channel starting from 12:00 UTC.

TimezoneTime
San Francisco/ Vancouver/ Seattle (UTC-7)0500
New York/ Ottawa/ Santiago (UTC-4)08:00
Brasilia (UTC-3)09:00
Accra/ Bamako (UTC)12:00
Lagos/ London/ Lisbon (UTC+1)13:00
Nairobi/ Riyadh/ Moscow (UTC +3)15:00
Bankok/ Jakarta/ Hovd (UTC+7)19:00
Beijing/ Perth (UTC+8)20:00
Tokyo/ Manokwari/ Adelaide (UTC+9)21:00
The Meeting will be at 12:00 UTC and these are the timezones in different cities in the world.